General Council

General Council

MWC's member churches and conferences each send one to three delegates (based on the population of the church or conference) to General Council meetings.

This group of church leaders meets every three years to shape the mandate of MWC, share concerns and insights, and worship together.

Mennonite World Conference: CONSTITUTION
Adopted by the General Council, 14 July 2009
Asunción, Paraguay

Executive Committee

executive committee 2018
Members of the MWC Executive committee,
including those outgoing and incoming,
at the General Council meeting in 2018.
Photo: Wilhelm Unger.

An Executive Committee is elected from the General Council and meets annually. Two members from each continental region are elected from the Council; a President and Vice-President are also elected by the Council. The Treasurer and General Secretary are also members of the Executive Committee.


  • General Secretary: César García (Colombia)
  • President: Henk Stenvers (Netherlands)
  • Vice-President: Lisa Carr-Pries (Canada)
  • Treasurer: Sunoko Lin (United States/Indonesia)

Africa representatives

  • Sindah Ngulube (Zimbabwe)
  • Samson Omondi (Kenya)

Asia/Pacific representatives

  • Amos Chin (Myanmar)
  • MZ Ichsanudin (Indonesia)

Caribbean, Central and South America representatives

  • Carlos Martínez García (Mexico)
  • Francis Pérez de León  (Bolivia)

Europe representatives

  • (vacant)
  • Wieteke van der Molen (Netherlands)

North America representatives

  • Linda Dibble (USA)
  • Doug Klassen (Canada)

Creation Care Task Force